top of page
Search
  • jknox0526

Road Trip Day 7

We woke up to a very pretty sunrise over the reservoir and began driving to Glacier National Park. When we left we hadn't gotten an entry ticket for the Going to the Sun Road, so I tried several times and was able to get a 7 day pass. As we drove the land stayed very flat and there were sunflowers and bees everywhere.



We made it to Glacier National Park in time for lunch and were able to get a "first come" camping spot at Two Medicine. We had one of our favorite lunches: tomatoes, feta and olives in oil, Old Croc Cheddar (my favorite cheese), and bread.


We then walked to Two Medicine Lake, and Jerry couldn't resist taking a quick dip. One of my goals on this trip was to see a moose. I have seen a moose before but it was at a great distance. We decided to go drive Going to the Sun road and one the way there a large bull moose crossed the road in front of us! Our first stop was the St. Mary's Visitor's Center on the East side of Glacier National Park. Jerry surprised me by buying me my main souvenir from the trip, a Pendleton Glacier National Park blanket! The lady checking us out let us know that if we joined that Glacier National Park Conservancy for $35 we would get 15% off of our blanket which meant that even with the donation to join, we still saved a little bit of money. As we left, everyone was complementing me on what a great husband I have to get me one of these blankets.



Near the weeping wall on Going to the Sun Road, we saw a black bear cub which ran in front of our truck. My advise to anyone is to drive slowly and pay attention as you drive through National Parks and wilderness areas. We had a moose and a bear cub run out in front of us, both in places with rock walls on one side and cliffs on the other where you wouldn't expect an animal to run out. We drove back on Going to the Sun Road. When we got back to the East side of the park we also saw several grizzly bears, which we had never seen before (we pulled into a parking spot and stayed in our car for the picture).



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page